Fare Trade December Review

IMG_0034The Fare Trade is a monthly subscription box which seeks to deliver flavorful, hand-crafted ingredients to you each month. Each month features a different chef with video tutorials and recipes. The theme of this month was a retrospective on some of the year’s best ingredients. There were 5 ingredients in the box and 2 sample candies. There are always sample candies and it’s possible that I ate them before taking this picture.

IMG_0036

Drunken Monkey Jam – I had never heard of this before but apparently it is a jam with bananas, rum and a squeeze of lime. The recipe that came with it was for “Drunken Monkey Budino.” I had never heard of a budino before but it seems to be a pudding type dessert with a cookie crust. It sounds very very tasty and the recipe is easy enough for me to make so I may try it.

IMG_0037

Texas Grapefruit Shrub – This ingredient is essentially a cocktail mixer and the recipe for it is for a Blue cheese, Walnut, Grapefruit Vinaigrette Salad. I’m not a fan of grapefruit so I’m on the fence about keeping it or gifting it.

IMG_0038

Skillet Bacon Spread – I’m very intrigued by this ingredient. I have never heard of a bacon spread before but the included recipe is for Maple Bourbon Baked Apple Crumble which sounds divine. The included card says it can also be used on burgers, sandwiches or even toast.

IMG_0039

Unbound Pickled Okra – I don’t like pickles and I don’t like okra so I gifted this to a friend who was delighted. I probably should have at least tried it because the recipe included frying the okra in a beer batter and then dipping in aioli.

IMG_0040

Baia Pasta – This was in one of my other boxes. It’s a good pasta although a bit unusual. I had a tough time finding recipes for it and the included recipe involves crab and several other ingredients I am not familiar with such as pernod. What is Pernod?

IMG_0041

The box includes several recipe cards as well as an explanation of each ingredient and the different ways it could be used. I like the box this month. Most of the recipes seem doable and the ingredients aren’t too far out there. I only have one more month on my subscription and I am kind of sad my subscription is ending. But truthfully the majority of recipes and ingredients I’ve received I haven’t gotten around to trying yet. I think the box is more for an adventurous cook who likes to try new things and not so much a busy mom with a fussy midwestern meat & potatoes type husband.

Leave a Reply

