September Fare Trade Review

IMG_6516

Fare Trade is a subscription box that sends different foods and recipes each month as determined by the feature chef. There are also one or two demo videos by the featured chef on how to do the recipe. There were seven items in the box and the chef this month is Jeff Mahin.

Grist & Toll Flour – The recipe for this item is for pizza dough. It seems very involved and time consuming to me so I have not done it yet although from the video it looks delicious.

Empire White Truffle Mayonnaise – The recipe for this is for a really delicious complicated sandwich so I decided to use it instead in White Truffle Deviled Eggs. I have never used truffle anything and I probably won’t again. It hasn’t a very pungent smell and I didn’t care for the flavor at all.

Jacobsen Oregon Flake Salt – I haven’t used this yet but can’t really go wrong with salt.

Mustard & Co Dijon Mustard – I added this to a recipe for chicken and I didn’t like it at all. But then I generally hate mustard so maybe it’s just me.

Olivelle Blood Orange Olive Oil & Olivelle Sundried Tomato Balsamic Vinegar – I have not tried either of these yet but they seem like good quality items.

The sample sweet this month was two caramels which I really liked. The favorite part of the box for me is usually the sweets. I would’ve canceled this subscription if I hadn’t have prepaid for six months. The ingredients and recipes are just way over my head.

Leave a Reply

