The Fare Trade August Review

IMG_6301

The Fare Trade is a subscription box which sends different ingredients along with recipes from a professional chef each month. The website includes videos and how to’s for making the recipes. This box had some good ingredients in it but I found the recipes way over my head. These are made by professional chefs so some of the ingredients and methods were just beyond me.

Quinn Sea Salt Popcorn – I just ate these out of the box as microwave popcorn. I really liked it and have since tried other Quinn popcorn products. Their maple sugar one is my favorite.

Joe’s BBQ Sauce – The recipe for this was for a smoked brisket. I don’t have a smoker and I’m not really sure where to even buy brisket so I just used this on BBQ chicken. The sauce is fantastic and quite possibly the best BBQ sauce I have ever had.

Baia Pasta – The recipe for this included crabmeat and I don’t know how to work with crabs so I searched the internet for another recipe using Twins Pasta. I have never used this type of pasta before but it was definitely high quality with a good flavor.

Bluestem Restaurant Coffee – The recipe for this was home made coffee ice cream. I decided not to bother and just had it as regular coffee. It was very good and I liked it.

Speckman Pure Honey – I have not tried this on anything yet but I am sure it will be good.

Alfajores Dulce Cookies – These were just a sample item and not part of a recipe. I liked them and thought there were a nice addition

I liked the ingredients in this box. I just wish the recipes weren’t so hard and didn’t require so many ingredients that I don’t normally stock. For someone who loves to cook and has a well stocked kitchen this would be a great subscription though.

Leave a Reply

