Julep Review

Years ago when I was a pre-teen I loved to paint my nails. I had tons of bottles of nail polish and I would wear a different color on each fingernail. But as an adult with the whole job, kids, house thing I don’t have the time to do anything with my nails. It’s just too much bother and they chip and then look bad for days and plus I don’t have the patience to wait for them to dry. Just too busy. But when I saw Julep’s add for a free box of nail polish I couldn’t resist. For just the cost of shipping ($4.00) Julep sent me this:

Image

It contained two bottles of nail color, cuticle serum and 2 nail buffing squares. I did not try the serum yet but I did rather like the sanding squares. They did a really good job and they were easy to hold onto. Here I am with the red color:Image

It’s not a red I would have normally chosen but I suppose it’s a good color for Valentine’s Day. They give you a style quiz to determine what your style is. Apparently I’m Classic with a Twist. I decided to go ahead and try the polka dotted look.

Image

It reminded me of Minnie Mouse. This look took way too much time.

Julep Pros: Nail polish seemed to dry fairly fast but the colors took two coats.

Julep Cons: I found the bottles crazy hard to open and the smell was just plain awful. The smell alone has probably put me off painting my nails for awhile.

Conclusion: Think I will stick with my OPI colors but for the teenager or person who really likes a variety of colors this could be a great subscription.

If you’d like to try out your free box follow this link: http://www.julep.com/rewardsref/index

 

2 thoughts on “Julep Review

  1. I stumbled across your site from another site, from another site, and so on, and I’ve really enjoyed your reviews of some boxes we receive, but many that we don’t, and some that I’ve never heard of, so thanks!!!
    Please be cautious about wearing OPI, they have nasty chemicals in a lot of their formulas, bad for you and your child. Julep is a “4 free” formula, which is great because its safe, I also like Essie and Ulta’s nail lacquer, which I think are both “3 free.”
    Keep up the fun writing and I’ll keep checking in to see what’s new 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

